Free Course

This course is provided free by the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association to anyone wishing to learn about Oregon CHL law. If you would like a certificate for proof of handgun training in order to obtain your CHL, the certificate may be purchased after successful completion of the course for $55. Completion of this training satisfies the Oregon educational requirement for handgun safety training to obtain your concealed handgun license. After completing this course you must apply for your CHL at your county sheriff’s office. You will need your Certificate of Completion to apply.

Free Course

This course is provided free by the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association to anyone wishing to learn about Oregon CHL law. If you would like a certificate for proof of handgun training in order to obtain your CHL, the certificate may be purchased after successful completion of the course for $55. Completion of this training satisfies the Oregon educational requirement for handgun safety training to obtain your concealed handgun license. After completing this course you must apply for your CHL at your county sheriff’s office. You will need your Certificate of Completion to apply.

STEP 1

REGISTER

Register for the course. Your progress will be saved as you take the course. If you are interrupted, you may continue the course at another time or from another device.

STEP 2

TAKE THE COURSE (FREE)

The course is divided into eight segments. You do not have to complete the course in one sitting. You may return at any time and your progress will be saved. You may repeat the materials and quizzes until you reach 100%.

STEP 3

PURCHASE CERTIFICATE - $55

After you have successfully completed the course, you may return at any time to pay via credit/debit card to obtain your certificate. You may also return to review the course material at any time.

STEP 1

REGISTER

Register for the course. Your progress will be saved as you take the course. If you are interrupted, you may continue the course at another time or from another device.

STEP 2

TAKE THE COURSE (FREE)

The course is divided into eight segments. You do not have to complete the course in one sitting. You may return at any time and your progress will be saved. You may repeat the materials and quizzes until you reach 100%.

STEP 3

PURCHASE CERTIFICATE - $55

After you have successfully completed the course, you may return at any time to pay via credit/debit card to obtain your certificate. You may also return to review the course material at any time.

Officially Endorsed by Oregon Sheriffs:

This online concealed handgun course was created, is supported and endorsed by Oregon’s 36 elected sheriffs. Sheriffs take an oath to uphold the Oregon and United States Constitutions which includes the 2nd amendment right to bear arms. Sheriffs support and advocate for the Oregon concealed handgun license process in the legislature. Sheriffs believe that as your elected Chief Law Enforcement Officer of each county that they are best suited to provide this training. Completion of this training satisfies the Oregon educational requirement for handgun safety training to obtain your concealed handgun license. In ORS 166.291 you will find all the criteria you must meet to obtain your concealed handgun license. When you get your online handgun safety training from the Oregon State Sheriffs’ Association you are directly supporting this organization’s ability to help your county sheriff fulfill their mission.

“This course was educational and informative. It gave me confidence knowing that my sheriff recommends it. I searched online and was confused by course sites that looked sketchy.”  Sandra J.

What is required to conceal a handgun in the state of Oregon?

law enforcement aim pistol by two hand in academy shooting range

By Oregon law if you want to carry a firearm concealed upon your person, or concealed and readily accessible within a vehicle, you must have a Concealed Handgun License (CHL). An Oregon CHL is issued by your county sheriff. Oregon CHLs require an applicant to be at least 21 years of age and demonstrate competence with a handgun. For a detailed list of requirements, visit Oregon Revised Statute 166.291 and check with your sheriff’s office before purchasing this certificate *Refunds will not be issued if a CHL application is denied.

Why take the OSSA official course instead of one offered by a third-party vendor?

Oregon sheriffs and our general counsel work closely with the Oregon Legislature every session on changes that may affect concealed handgun licensing. We are familiar with the latest legislative enactments because we are involved in the process at every stage, from drafting language for bills under consideration to providing testimony in Legislative committee hearings. OSSA puts on an annual CHL training for sheriffs office staff across the state who handle CHL applications, and we work closely with those staff members throughout the year.

OSSA also works closely with your local sheriff’s office to provide you with top-quality online handgun training. Completion of this course satisfies the educational requirement for handgun safety training in order to obtain your Oregon concealed handgun license. The content of this training course is maintained and supported by Oregon’s 36 sheriffs and it is periodically reviewed by OSSA’s legal counsel to ensure all the materials are current. Other courses may or may not have current material, and may not have been reviewed by a licensed Oregon attorney familiar with Oregon gun laws.

OSSA is a non-profit organization that exists to support and train Oregon sheriffs and their staff. OSSA has been doing this since 1916. Oregon’s 36 sheriffs make up the OSSA’s Board of Directors, and when you get your online CHL training from OSSA you are directly supporting this organization’s ability to help your county sheriff fulfill their mission.

women-gun safety image

Why take the OSSA official course instead of one offered by a third-party vendor?

women-gun safety image

Oregon sheriffs and our general counsel work closely with the Oregon Legislature every session on changes that may affect concealed handgun licensing. We are familiar with the latest legislative enactments because we are involved in the process at every stage, from drafting language for bills under consideration to providing testimony in Legislative committee hearings. OSSA puts on an annual CHL training for sheriffs office staff across the state who handle CHL applications, and we work closely with those staff members throughout the year.

OSSA also works closely with your local sheriff’s office to provide you with top-quality online handgun training. Completion of this course satisfies the educational requirement for handgun safety training in order to obtain your Oregon concealed handgun license. The content of this training course is maintained and supported by Oregon’s 36 sheriffs and it is periodically reviewed by OSSA’s legal counsel to ensure all the materials are current. Other courses may or may not have current material, and may not have been reviewed by a licensed Oregon attorney familiar with Oregon gun laws.

OSSA is a non-profit organization that exists to support and train Oregon sheriffs and their staff. OSSA has been doing this since 1916. Oregon’s 36 sheriffs make up the OSSA’s Board of Directors, and when you get your online CHL training from OSSA you are directly supporting this organization’s ability to help your county sheriff fulfill their mission.

“I like how quickly I was able to complete the course and receive my certificate because I needed it for my appointment with the county sheriff.” Doug S.

Oregon Concealed Carry Reciprocity:

Oregon law does not provide reciprocity to CHL holders from any state outside of the State of Oregon. You can only legally carry a concealed weapon in Oregon with an Oregon CHL. To apply for an Oregon CHL you must be resident of Oregon. The access to an out-of-state CHL varies by county. Visit your local county sheriff’s office website for details. Many states with CHL programs offer reciprocity to Oregon CHL holders. State laws change often, OSSA suggests that Oregon CHL holders confirm reciprocity with any state the holder is travelling to and wishes to carry concealed.

girl shooting instructor with a gun in his hand aiming at the target

If you want to conceal carry in Oregon, the only way to do so is to obtain your Oregon CHL. Oregon does not recognize any other state license.

Oregon Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

Oregon Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map
Oregon Concealed Carry Reciprocity Map

“I recently moved to Oregon and was referred to this site by my brother. It’s great to see that Oregon keeps it simple by recommending one site. Thank you!” Larry B.

OSSA CHL Course satisfies requirement for your county:

Completion of this training satisfies the Oregon educational requirement for handgun safety training to obtain your CHL. After completing this course, you must apply for your CHL at your county sheriff’s office. See below for contact information to make an appointment.

Out of State CHL?

The access to an out-of-state CHL varies by county. Visit your local county sheriff’s office website for details. See links below.

Counties with an * issue out-of-state CHLs.

Baker County

(541) 523-6415

Clackamas County

(503) 655-8218

Crook County

(541) 447-6398

Douglas County

(541) 440-4450

Josephine County

(541) 474-5123

Union County

(541) 963-1017

Wallowa County *

(541) 426-3131

“OSSA CHL course was simple and straight-forward. I appreciate getting just what I need and being able to move forward with the process.” Jennifer K.